Jamaican Family Search Genealogy Research Library



The following hold appointments as Visiting Officers under the Quarantine Law, 1869, for the ports opposite their respective names:

Dr. James Neish, Health Officer, Port Royal

Mr. F. H. Holwell, Port Royal

Mr. T. J. Breakspear, Morant Bay

Mr. C. M. Gifford, Port Morant

Mr. R. H. Brice, Deputy, Dry Harbour

Mr. J. G. Chisholm, Port Antonio

Mr. G. C. Hutchings, Annotto Bay

Mr. John Leigh Lord, Port Maria

Mr. S. Binns, St. Ann's Bay

Mr. J. A. S. Monaghan, Falmouth

Mr. A. G. Facey, Montego Bay

Mr. E. P. Pullar, Lucea

Mr. E. A. Savage, Savanna-la-Mar

Mr. O. L. B. Cumming, Black River

Mr. C. A. Passmore, Alligator Pond

Mr. John Smythe, Milk River

Mr. Charles Wood, Salt River

Quarantine Board

Deputy Surgeon-General, C. B. Mosse, C.B., Superintending Medical Officer

Dr. Frank Saunders, Senior Medical Officer Public Hospital

D. B. Lyons, Esq., Merchant

Dr. C. Gayleard, District Medical Officer for Kingston

E. A. H. Haggart, Esq.

Mr. E. A. Foster, Secretary




Medical Department

Superintending Medical Officer C. B. Mosse, C.B., M.R.C.S., Eng.
Chief Clerk E. A. Foster
First Class Clerk L. E. Delfosse
Third class clerk A. M. Strachan
Medical Storekeeper Edwin Butler

Public Hospital

Chief Medical Officeer and Director C. B. Mosse, C.B., M.R.C.S., Eng.
Senior Medical Officer F. H. Saunders, M.R.C.S., Eng
Senior Resident Medical Officer W. H. Strachan, L.R.C.P., Lon, M.R.C.S., Eng
Junior Resident Medical Officer R. S. Turton, L.R.C.P., London
Clerk and Purveyor Turner Pearson
Warden and Issuer H. M. Griffith
Dispenser C. A. Mitchell
Matron C. E. Williamson
Assistant Clerk J. H. Phillips
Chaplain Rev. G. W. Downer

Lunatic Asylum

Medical Supt. and Director J. W. Plaxton, M.R.C.S.
Assistant Medical Officer M. P. C. McCormack, L.R.C.S., Ed.
Chief Clerk and Steward J. M. Simpson
Warden T. W. A. Van Cuylenberg
Matron A. E. Blake
Assistant Clerk A. E. Langley

Lepers' Home

Medical Attentant J. F. Donovan, M.D.
Superintendent and Dispenser G. M. Jopp
Matron G. Burnside

Health Officer

Port Royal James Neish, M. D.


Kingston Kingston C. Gayleard, M.R.C.S., Eng.
St. Andrew Western or Stony Hill Y. G. T. Moore, L.R.C.P., Lon.
" Halfway-Tree J. Cargill, M.D. New York, L.R.C.P. Lon.
" Eastern C. W. M. Castle, M.D.
" Southern E. L. Grant, M.B.C.M.
St. Thomas St. David Thomas Manners, M.R.C.S.
" Morant Bay J. S. Gerrard, M.R.C.S., Eng.
" Bath Sub-District & Plantain Garden River A. C. Neyland, M.D.
Portland Manchioneal J. C. E. Roberts, M.D.
" Port Antonio C. A. Moseley, M.D.
" Buff Bay F. W. Guiselin, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., Lon.
St. Mary Annotto Bay L. Gifford, M.B.
" Belfield J. Pringle, M.B.
" Port Maria L. E. Delmage, L.R.C.P.
" Gayle H. Joslen
St. Ann St. Ann's Bay H. E. Maunsell, M.B., M.R.C.S., Irld.
" Moneague D. M. McPhail, M.B., M.S.
" Brown's Town F. G. Phillippo, L.R.C.P.
Trelawny Ulster Spring F. A. G. Purchas
" Swanswick C. T. Dewar, L.R.C.S., L.R.C.P.
" Falmouth & Good Hope Sub-District J. L. Cox, L.R.C.P., L.R.C.P., Ed.
St. James Montego Bay (Leeward and Windward Districts) F. A. Sinclair, M.B., M.S., Edin.
" Bandon G. E. Cheyne, M.R.C.S., Eng.
Hanover Central District E. H. Cooke, M.B.
" Lucea John Deleon, M.R.C.S., Eng.
" Green Island A. E. Hilker
Westmoreland Savanna-la-Mar, No. 1 R. S. Harvey
" Savanna-la-Mar, No. 2 O. C. Harvey, M.R.C.S., Eng., M.D.
St. Elizabeth Black River J. A. L. Calder, M.B., M.R.C.S., Edin.
" Santa Cruz J. H. Clark, L.R.C.S., Edin.
" Siloah V. ff. Mullen
Manchester Mandeville George Cooke, L.R.C.S., Irld.
" Newport S. M. Logan
" Mile Gully B. M. Beckwith
Clarendon Chapelton H. L. Clare, M.B.
" Dry River or Four Paths R. G. S. Bell, M.B., M.S., Edin.
" Vere H. G. Tillman
St. Catherine Old Harbour W. D. Neish, L.R.C.P., Edin.
" Spanish Town G. T. Martyn, M.R.C.S., Eng.
" St. John's T. M. Drummond, M.D.
" Linstead J. H. Peck, L.R.C.S., Ed.
" Supernumerary Medical Officers G. V. Lockett and John Hobbs


James Scott, M.R.C.S., Eng., Kingston

J. Ogilvie, F.R.C.S., Edin., Kingston

J. C. Phillippo, M.D., Edin., Kingston

A. R. Saunders, M.B., Lon., F.R.C.S., Eng., Kingston

J. Wilson, M.D., Aberdeen, Montego Bay

J. E. W. Holwell, M.D., Old Harbour

J. A. Wegg, M.D., Ohio, Spanish Town

E. E. Bronstorph, L.R.C.P., Lon., Kingston

G. D. A. DaCosta, B.M., M.S., Aberdeen, Kingston

L. M. Clark, L.R.C.P., Edin., Kingston

L. W. Anderson, M.D., Edin., Kingston

W. J. Calder, M.B., Westmoreland

G. C. Henderson, M.D., Lon., Kingston

J. Adolphus, M.R.C.S., Eng., Kingston

R. C. Gibb, M.R.C.S., Eng., L.R.C.P., Lon., Vere

J. M. Ferguson, M.D., Edin., St. Mary

W. B. Keech, M.R.C.S., Eng., Port Antonio

James Johnstone, L.R.C.P., L.R.C.S., Edin., Brown's Town

Alexander J. McCatty, Montego Bay

B. W. Davies, M.D., L.R.C.S., Edin., Kingston

Augustus Nicoll, M.B., M.S., Edin., Kingston

L. D. H. Russel, M.R.C.S., Spanish Town

C. H. Van Waterschoodt, M.D., Highgate, St. Mary

Alexander G. McCatty, St. Ann's Bay

G. Hargreaves, L.R.C.P., Ed., St. Elizabeth

A. A. Robinson, M.B., Edin., Kingston


Rev. John Radcliffe

Hon J. T. Orrett

I. W. Anderson, M.D.

F. B. Lyons, Esq.

Thomas Oughton, Esq.


Rev. D. J. East

Hon. J. C. Phillippo, M.D.

C. E. DeMercado, Esq.

William Lee, Esq.

Rev. W. Gillies

Hon. W. Bourke


The Jamaica Branch of the British Medical Association was founded at Kingston in December, 1877.

There have been ten Presidents since the foundation of the Branch, in the following order:

Thomas Clark, M.D., Edin.

D. P. Ross, M.D., F.R.C.S. Edin.

C. Gayleard, M.R.C.S., Eng., L.R.C.P., Edin.

Hon. J. C. Phillippo, M.D., Edin. (4 times)

James Ogilvie, F.R.C.S., Edin.

A. R. Saunders, M.B., Lon., F.R.C.S., Eng.

M. Stern, M.R.C.S., Eng., L.R.C.P., Lon.

J. Cargill, M.D., New York, L.R.C.P., Lon.

F. H. Saunders, M.R.C.S., Eng

G. C. Henderson, M.D., Lon.


F. H. Saunders, M.R.C.S., Eng

A. R. Saunders, M.B., Lon., F.R.C.S., Eng., President

Hon. J. C. Phillippo, M.D., Edin. (4 times)

Hon. C. B. Mosse, C.B., M.R.C.S., Eng.

G. C. Henderson, M.D., Lon.

C. Gayleard, M.R.C.S., Eng., L.R.C.P., Edin.

H. Strachan, L.R.C.P., Lon., M.R.C.S., Eng.

J. W. Plaxton, M.R.C.S., Eng.

George Cooke, L.R.C.S., Id., L.R.C.P., Edin.

G. F. DaCosta, M.B., Aberd., Hony. Secretary and Treasurer


The Council was established by Law 47 of 1872.

Current members of the Council:

Hon. J. C. Phillippo, M.D., Edin., President

Hon. C. B. Mosse, C.B., M.R.C.S., Eng.

Izett W. Anderson, M.D., Edin.

A. R. Saunders, M.B., Lon., F.R.C.S., Eng., (exam.)

J. Cargill, M.D., New York, L.R.C.P., Lon.

C. Gayleard, M.R.C.S., Eng., L.R.C.P., Edin., Secretary

© 2013. Jamaican Family Search hereby grants you a limited license to copy and use the materials provided on this site solely for your personal, non-commercial use. No other use of the site or materials is authorized. You agree that any copy of the materials (or any portion of the materials) that you make shall retain all copyright and other proprietary notices contained therein. Posting of materials on other Web Sites is strictly prohibited.


Search for



Plan of this website

Help - Frequently Asked Questions

Jamaica Almanacs Slave-owners, Civil & Military officers, Magistrates etc.

Items in the Samples Directory

Items in the Members Directory

Transcriptions from Registers and Wills (Church of England, Dissenters, Civil Registration)

Jamaican Roman Catholic Church Registers - transcriptions

Jamaican Methodist Baptisms - transcriptions

Jewish births marriages deaths - transcriptions

Slaves and slavery in Jamaica

Photographs, maps, prints, etc.