Jamaican Family Search Genealogy Research Library




All the Judges of the Supreme Court with
Thomas Reid, junior
John R. James
Hon. William Dawes Quarrel
P. Pinnock
David Finlayson
Lewis Wiliams, [Williams?] junior
William Loch
J. Stewart
Samuel Vaughan

Deputy-Clerk of the Cornwall Assizes, Henry Ruddick.



Custos Rotulorum, Hon. George Murray, Esq.

Justices of the Peace and of the Quorum

James Williams
Hon. John Lewis
J. R. Tomlinson
John Graham
Samuel Bell
William Hudson
Samuel Jefferies
William Loch, Esquires

Justices of the Peace

Theodore Stone
David Finlayson
Philip Pinnock
Rev. T. Stewart
F. E. King
W. R. Johnson
James Brown
W. S. Woollery
Oliver Hering
William Fyfe
John Wedderburn
James McIntosh
T. W. Hardin
James McGill, Esquires



Chief Judge, Honourable George Murray


Hon. John Lewis
W. Loch
J. R. Tomlinson
John Graham
Samuel Bell
William Hudson
Samuel Jefferies
David Finlayson
Theodore Stone
Philip Pinnock
Rev. T. Stewart, Esquires

Clerk of the Peace and Court, Henry Ruddick, Esq.
Coroner, George Woodbine, Esq.
Clerk of the Vestry, Clerk of the Commissioners of the Town, and Pound Keeper, Thomas Ba_ker [Barker?], Esq.
Collecting Constable, William Tomlinson, Esq.
Clerk of the Parish and Sexton, Mr. T. Willloughby
Inspector and Collector of Rum Duties, &Mr. Clement Court
Harbour-Master and Pilot, Mr. Peter Aitken
Clerk of the Market, George Woodbine, Esq.
Commissioners for taking Affidavits in the Supreme Court, Henry Ruddick, George Woodbine, and Philip Davies, Esq.
Commissioners for taking Affidavits in the Court of Vice-Admiralty, William Hay Davies, and Philip Davies, Esquires
Notary Public, James Brown, Esquire


N.B. There are in this Parish 73 Sugar Works, 25 Penns, 28 Coffee Walks, and 3 Cotton Walks, 19,525 Slaves, and 19,120 Stock.



The Custos
The Representatives in Assembly
Three of the senior Magistrates
The Rector in the Parish
And five Freeholders to be chosen annually.  Those for the present year, are
G. Woodbine
F. E. King
W. Loch
James McIntosh
Robert Thompson

Teacher, Reverend Thomas Stewart



President of Workhouse, Honorable John Lewis, Esq.
Commissioners, John Graham, James Mackintosh, and Allan McDonald
Treasurer, Thomas Barker
Surgeon, Samuel Bell
Supervisor of the Workhouse, Mr. ----- Lattellier


Custos and Chief Justice, Hon. Joseph James Swaby, Esq.

Assistant Judges and of the Quorum

Rev. Thomas Warren
J. White
H. Colquhoun
Thomas Dunkley
Alexander Ranken
James Rowe, Esquires


John Robb
David Shakespeare
Charles Farquharson
W. K. Hewitt
W. Rowe
J. Griffiths
Duncan Robertson

Clerk of the Peace and Court, John Chambers
Clerk of Vestry, Mr. James Morrison
Coroner,  ------  ------------
Pound-Keeper, Mr. William Copland
Harbour-Master at Black River, Charles McKnight
River-Warden, Nathaniel Delano
Supervisor of the Workhouse, Charles McKnight
Inspector of Rum Duties, Richard Crawford
Churchwardens, H. Colquhoun and W. K. Hewitt, Esquires


Patrick White
John Chambers
William Webb
John Davey
John Longlands
Samuel Meanly
Alexander Rose
John Graham
David Russell
Edward Dennis, Esquires


N.B. In this Parish are 24 Sugar Works, 218 other Settlements, 15,595 Slaves, and 28,014 Stock.


Custos and Chief Judge of Common Pleas, Hon. John Campbell, Esq.

Assistant Judges, and of the Quorum

W. D. Quarrell
George Binham
W. Brown
Donald Malcolm
George Brissett
Thomas Reid
Patrick Spence
William Hudson
R. Haughton Reid
Charles James Clarke
Robert Gilpin
Edmund Finucane
George Malcolm
John Perry
Patrick Gray
Mathew Atkinson
Patrick Maxwell
John Paterson
Robert Kerr
Richard Dickson
George Spence, Esquires

Coroner, Henry Randall, Esq.
Clerk of the Peace, Court, and Vestry, Benjamin Tennison, Esq.
Pound-Keeper at Lucea, Mrs. Hill
Pound-Keeper at Green Island, James Baird
Harbour-Master at Lucea, ----- -----
Harbour-Master at Green Island, Mr. Walter Wright
Pilot, A. Chambers



Teacher, Reverend Simon Little



President, William Clarke, Esq.
Clerk and Supervisor, Mr. John Wright
Surgeons, George Binham and Son


N.B. In this Parish are 78 Sugar Estates, 155 other Settlements, 22,425 Slaves and 15,397 Stock.


Custos and Chief Judge of Common Pleas, Hon. John Mowat, Esq.

Justices of the Quorum and Assistant Judges of the Court of Common Pleas

Thomas Agreed, junior
John R. James
Thomas D. Bernard
Donald Campbell
John Cunningham
John Perry
Stephen B. Bowen
W. H. Tharp
Robert Borland
Sir S. H. Clarke, Baronet
Robert Bowen
Raynes B. Waite
J. Aemilius Irving
Samuel Vaughan, junior
David Kerr
James Peterkin
John Ingram
George McLenan
Richard Heath
William Duncan
Philip A. Scarlett
Daniel Bernard
John B. Irving
Henry Waite
William Murray
Thomas J. Gray
Charles Evans
Thomas Williams
Handaside Edgar
H. T. Gibbes
A. J. Findlater
T. Munro
P. Grant
Robert Sterling, Esquires

Clerk of the Peace, A. Ricketts, Esq.
Clerk of the Court and Vestry and Collector of Transient Tax, Charles Evans, Esq.
Coroner, M.  C. C. B. Stevens, Esq.
Collecting Constable, Stephen B. Bowen, Esq.
Pound Keeper at Montego Bay, Mr. Samuel Gayner
Harbour Master at Montego Bay, Mr. John Griffiths
Beadle of the Corporation, Robert Warren


N. B. In this Parish are 141,000 acres, 81 Sugar Estates, 160 Penns and Plantations, 25,000 Slaves, and 15,000 Cattle.



President, S. Vaughan, junior, Esq.

Hon. John Mowatt
John Ingram
J. L. Winn
J. Cunningham
Samuel Sharpe
Archibald Stirling
Thomas Joseph Gray
Colin Thomson
Donald Campbell
James Fannin
R. B. Waite
Alexander Davidson

Treasurer, F. C. Scott , Esq.
Secretary, Mr. John Fry
Water Bailiff, John Friffiths [Griffiths?]



President, J. Cunningham, Esq.
Supervisor, Mr. James Matthews
Treasurer, S. B. Bowen, Esq.
Surgeon, Alexander Watt


Custos and Chief Judge of the Common Pleas, ---- -----, Esq.

Assistant Judges and of the Quorum

Thomas Reid
Alexander Campbell
Rev. Adrian Reid
John Blagrove
John Whittaker
Basil Cooper
James Stewart
James Lyon
Rev. Thomas Simcockes
W. J. Stevenson
James Galloway
Alexander Hawthorn
Handaside Edgar
Urquhart Gillespie
Patrick Smith
Edward Knowles
James K. Kelly
William Pitter
Thomas Munro
W. B. Utten
James P. Utten
William Bennett
Hon. William Mitchell
Hon. Henry Shirley
Peter Franklyn
James Scarlett, junior.
John Mitchell
John Gayner
John Hodges
R. F. Hodges
Charles O'Conner
John Cunningham
J. B. Irving
Thomas Tharp
Hugh Barnett
Alexander Edgar

Coroner, T. G. Gallimore, Esq.
Clerk of the Vestry, James Blair, Esq.
Clerk of the Peace and Court, Adam Blackburn, Esq.
Collecting Constable, W. J. Stevenson, Esq.
Pound Keeper, John Gayner, junior, Esq.
Supervisor of Workhouse, Mr. J. Clark
Pilots, Main, Troop, and ---- Burward
Harbour Master at Martha Brae, Mr. A. Main


N. B. In this Parish there are 100 Sugar Works, 45 Penns and Pimento Walks, 83 other Settlements, 26,649 Slaves,  16,445 Cattle.

© 2013. Jamaican Family Search hereby grants you a limited license to copy and use the materials provided on this site solely for your personal, non-commercial use. No other use of the site or materials is authorized. You agree that any copy of the materials (or any portion of the materials) that you make shall retain all copyright and other proprietary notices contained therein. Posting of materials on other Web Sites is strictly prohibited.


Search for



Plan of this website

Help - Frequently Asked Questions

Jamaica Almanacs Slave-owners, Civil & Military officers, Magistrates etc.

Items in the Samples Directory

Items in the Members Directory

Transcriptions from Registers and Wills (Church of England, Dissenters, Civil Registration)

Jamaican Roman Catholic Church Registers - transcriptions

Jamaican Methodist Baptisms - transcriptions

Jewish births marriages deaths - transcriptions

Slaves and slavery in Jamaica

Photographs, maps, prints, etc.