Jamaican Family Search Genealogy Research Library




->The Members of Council, Speaker of the Assembly, Judges of the Grand Court, and Attorney-General, are Justices in every Parish.  All Judges of the Court of Common Pleas in the Island take Probates of Deeds.



Containing the Parishes of St. Catherine, St. Thomas in the Vale, St. Dorothy and St. John

Custos, Honourable John Rodon, Esq.


Matthew Halsted
Hon. William Jackson
Henry Rennalls
William Thompson
Hon. James Jones
John Henckell
Thomas Bourke
George Bramner
George Clarke
William Caldwell
John Clinton McAnuff
Philip Redwood
Charles Grant
Edmond Jordan
Theodore Foulks
Robert Shawe
William Ramsay
Hon. Andrew Johnstone
Alexander MacLeod
John Quire
Robert Ogilvy
Sir Alexander Grant, Baronet
Robert Page
John Michael Dwyer
George Cruickshank
Joseph W. Ogborn
George Clarke
Peter Douglas
Silas Hathaway
John Hutch. Fraser
Philip Pinnock
James Lewis, junior
Edward Bowes
John Sibbitt
James Mitchell
John Blackburn
Edmond Pusey Lyon
J. B. Scriven
Samuel Queneborough
Robert Ross
Rose Price
John Shand
William Bullock
Oliver Hering
Thomas J. Mytin
Angus McKay
John O'Meally
George Cuthbert
J. M. McCaa
David Gardner
George Howell
George Atkinson
Benjamin Lyon
Edward Bullock
Francis Smith
Isaac Singer
D. Finlayson
Charles N. Palmer
Adam Dolmage
James C. Barton
Samuel Pleydell

Coroner and Clerk of the Peace, Richard R. Parker, Esq.
Organist, Mr. Felix Byrne

Clerks of Vestry

St. Catherine, Thomas Cullum, Esq.
St. Thomas in the Vale, Robert Souper Bayley, Esq.
St. Dorothy, Mr. John Quest
St. John, Robert Ellis


St. Catherine, J. Wooley
St. Thomas in the Vale, Mr. Daniel McIntosh

Churchwardens: Francis Smith and Adam Dolmage, Esquires.
Vestrymen: George Cruickshank, William Ramsay, Lewis Cuthbert, Alexander M. McLeod, George Howell, James Lewis, James Dalhouse, John Shand, James Burnett, Isaac Singer.



President, Hon. John Rodon, Esq.
Treasurer, John Shand, Esq.
Surgeons, Brodbelt and Lee
Clerk, Thomas Cullum, Esq.
Supervisor, Mr. Robert James
Overseer, Mr. Edwin B. Sandys



Treasurer, the acting Church-warden
Proveditor, Thomas Cullum, Esq. £30
Surgeons, Brodbelt and Lee
Matron, Mrs. Palmer £30



Governors - ex officio

Teacher, Mr. John Demetres
Treasurer, Rev. R. S. Woodham



Treasurer, Hon. John Rodon, Esq.
Surveyor of the Road, Ben. Lyon, Esq.
Clerk, Thomas Cullum, Esq. £50
Toll-Keeper, John Wilkins


Custos and Chief Judge of the Common Pleas, Hon. W. Fearon, Esq.

Assistant Judges, Magistrates, and of the Quorum

Williams Smith
Hon. George McKenzie
Theodore Foulks
Hon. George Crawford Ricketts
William Mitchell
Thomas Howell
Arthur McKenzie

Assistant Judges

Hon. John Rodon
George Rodon
William H. Israel
Samuel Virgin
Joseph Israel
R. W. Fearon
J. W. May
George Atkinson, Esquires


Hon. Thomas Anderson
Samuel Virgin
Roland W. Fearon
Joseph Israel
Alexander Falconer
George McKenzie, junior
Dut. Smith Turner
Alexander Mackenzie
George Atkinson
Samuel Smith
James Craggs
J. S. Fearon
H. D. McKenzie
William Stewart

Clerk of the Court, James Smith, Esq.
Clerk of Peace, W. G. Howell
Collecting Constable, W. H. Israel
Clerk of the vestry, Mr. Isaac Pearkins

Churchwardens: Joseph Israel and Alexander Falconer, Esquires


John Henckell
George Rodon
William Phillips
Rowland Fearon
H. D. McKenzie
William Stewart
Joseph Thomson
George Farquhar
John May
Samuel Smith



President, Joseph Israel, Esq.
Supervisor, Mr. John Johnston


N.B. In this Parish are 61 Sugar Works, 189 other Settlements, 18,500 Slaves, and 15,000 Cattle.


Custos, Honourable Alexander Fullerton, Esq.

Chief Justice, Hon. John Hiatt, Esq.

                       Assistant Judges and of the Quorum

Thomas Riley
Francis McDermot
H. Tucker
William Parke
Jonathan Mallard
Thomas Jenkins
William Bolt
Adam Anderson
James Dick
James Newby
William Weston
John Scarlett, Esquires

                     Assistant Judges only

Henry Marshall
John Clinton McAnuff
James Henry


John Baillie
James Fraser
Henry Hamilton
John Potenger
H. Smallwood
G. Cruickshank
B. W. Smith
Alexander Campbell, Esquires

Clerk of the Peace and Court, William Voce, Esq.
Clerk of the Vestry, George Stennet, Esq.
Coroner, G. Gallimore, Esq.
Poundkeeper St. Ann's Bay, Mr. Dawson
Poundkeeper Dry Harbour, Mr. John Gordon
Pilots, Thomas Sexten, William Carter



President, Richard Wollaston, Esq.
Treasurer, J.. T. Riley
Supervisor, Mr. George Dawson
Surgeon, Dr. Alexander Kidston


N. B. In this Parish are 37 Sugar Works, 6 Sugar Works now settling, 120 Penns, 98 Pimento and 34 Coffee Settlements, 4200 Hogsheads Sugar, 1,000,000 lbs. Coffee made, 19,000 Slaves, 25,000 Stock.



    The Harbour is defended by a reef of Rocks, and divided into two parts, an Upper and a Lower, into which run eight Wharves, at the end of one of which the largest Ship in the Trade might be hove down.  The lower Town consists of 14 Houses, with the Church and Parsonage:  The Upper is pleasantly situated, and contains upwards of 80 Houses, many of them capital Buildings, with extensive Stores and Warehouses, besides several Houses now building; also a large commodious Barrack, with a good Magazine and Hospital.


Custos, and Chief Judge, Honourable Thomas Murphy, Esq.

                      Assistant Judges, and of the Quorum

Hon. Donald Campbell
John Hiatt
Robert Hibbert
Thomas Burke
Z. Bayly Edwards
James Johnston
Bryan Edwards is
William Ross
John Hodgson
Sir Alexander Grant, Baronet
Davis Shaw, Esq.


Patrick Lynch
Philip Redwood
William Parker
Patrick Kein
Francis McDermot
Abraham Hodgson
A. W. Hamilton
Henry Hough
William Nasmyth
G. H. Cosens
William Burrows, Esquires.

Clerk of the Peace, and Court, Harman Galbraith, Esq.
Coroner, W. Pollock, Esq.
Clerk of the Vestry, Mr. James Forsyth
Pound Keeper, Mr. G. Perry
Collecting Constable, John McKay
Deputy, John Smith
Pilot and Harbour-Master, Oliver Cooper



President, William Ross
Supervisor, Mr. James Forsyth
Treasurer, David Shaw, Esq.
Surgeon, James Gowans


N.B. In this parish are 70 Sugar Estates, 120 other Settlements, 23,000 Slaves, and 16,000 Cattle.


Custos and Chief Judge, Hon. Thomas Anderson, Esq.

                       Assistant Judges and of the Quorum

A. Smith
William Prendergast
James Craggs
Dutton S. Turner
Francis Farquhar
William P. Hayle
William Hudson
James Wright

Clerk of the Peace, Edward Husband
Clerk of the Court, Alexander Rose
Clerk of the Vestry, and Collecting Constables, Mr. Thomas Goulbourn


N. B. In this parish are 30 Sugar Estates, 30 Cotton Plantations, 100 other Settlements, 11,000 Negroes, and 5,000 Cattle.




The Representatives in Assembly, Three of the senior Magistrates, the Rector and Churchwardens,
Five freeholders, chosen annually
Those for the present year are:
Mr. Craggs, Mr. Farquhar, Mr. Hayle, Mr. Hudson, Mr. T. Priddie.
Teacher, Mr. Edward Husband
Clerk to the Trustees, Mr. Charles Goulbourn

© 2013. Jamaican Family Search hereby grants you a limited license to copy and use the materials provided on this site solely for your personal, non-commercial use. No other use of the site or materials is authorized. You agree that any copy of the materials (or any portion of the materials) that you make shall retain all copyright and other proprietary notices contained therein. Posting of materials on other Web Sites is strictly prohibited.


Search for



Plan of this website

Help - Frequently Asked Questions

Jamaica Almanacs Slave-owners, Civil & Military officers, Magistrates etc.

Items in the Samples Directory

Items in the Members Directory

Transcriptions from Registers and Wills (Church of England, Dissenters, Civil Registration)

Jamaican Roman Catholic Church Registers - transcriptions

Jamaican Methodist Baptisms - transcriptions

Jewish births marriages deaths - transcriptions

Slaves and slavery in Jamaica

Photographs, maps, prints, etc.